Milestone for the Future

As of today – around 2.50pm, in fact – my university application has been submitted to UCAS.  Why I couldn’t have gone the ‘traditional’ route of sending my application by post I’m not sure, but anyhow, it’s gone; beyond my reach, cast off, sailing away to what will hopefully become my Future.  The options I went for, some of which I’m already a bit iffy about, were:

  • English Literature at Edinburgh University
  • English Literature and History at Edinburgh University
  • International Relations at Edinburgh University
  • English Literature at Glasgow University
  • English at St Andrews University

I’m very glad the Scottish system is as flexible as it is, because although I have some idea of what courses I’d like to take and the careers I’m after, it’s almost certain that I’ll want to change my mind at some point.  I’ve ranked the list roughly in my order of preference – I get a savage pleasure from putting St Andrews at the bottom, though it did made it into the top 5.  This is both thrillingly exciting and terrifying, but my life appears to be moving ahead which is mostly all that matters.

When I think of careers, two words form mistily in my head: “journalism” and “teaching.”  No idea how I would do either of these; I don’t think I’m supposed to – yet.  I just really want to be part of the world, having grown up in an isolated part of it, and perhaps make my mark, leaving it ever so slightly the better if I can.  And to do this it would make sense to play to my strengths, such as – I hope – writing, and a keen interest in world affairs, the news, etc.

Enough blabbering.  Hopefully I’ll be accepted and hopefully they’re the right choices.  If not, I’ll learn why and find new avenues.  The future starts here.

Leave a Reply

