Vegetarianism

I’ve been following a vegetarian diet for two weeks, now.  For nearly as long as I’ve been doing this blog, in fact!  It began as an experiment to see what life as a vegetarian would be like, and to see how long I could last.  I immediately learned many things, such as having to check that food hasn’t been cooked in animal fat, and there were also factors I just hadn’t thought of, like gelatine in jelly and marshmallows.

Yet, I’ve found it far easier than I expected to.  This is helped in part due to the wide availability of meat replacements from quorn and soya, which has eased the transition.  I still don’t know of imitations for steak and fish, which are the two foods I’m missing the most.  Finding food at school is also a struggle, but I plan to devote a separate post to that travesty.

I have no idea how long this will continue for.  I could keep it up indefinitely, or I could also stop tomorrow.  A few people have been wafting bacon in my face (quite violently sometimes), I assume in the hope that I’ll have some kind of relapse and bite their hand off.  But if I do return to eating meat it will be after a firm decision I’ve made – not due to a moment of weakness.  I’d like to think I, or most people for that matter, would have a stronger will than that and stick to their decisions.

So what caused this sudden decision?  It wasn’t something I’d planned doing, I just decided then and there to stop eating meat.  I guess there are several factors: I’d just met some adorable piglets who are being reared for meat, and I suppose I felt that renouncing meat gave me a right to enjoy their company.  I’ve also had several discussions with my Auntie, who owns a farm, over the nature of keeping animals for food, but considering I’m a meat eater I’ve never had a leg to stand on.  I’d also been having a exceptionally terrible week, so I suppose it was something to focus on.  The mind makes interesting decisions like that.  Perhaps I should be grateful.

But vegetarianism is something I’ve long considered.  Every time I’d previously had a conversation with a vegetarian I could feel myself being pulled closer.  My primary reason, like most people, is that I’m increasingly becoming uncomfortable with eating something which had once been so clearly alive, and thoughtful, and emotive, and so similar to myself.  I know eating meat is natural and, assuming I keep this up, I’d never have a problem with it if I needed to for survival; but I’m thinking, while I have the option to lead a healthy life without eating meat, I should take it.  There’s also the ‘wishy-washy’ reason that it will lead to a more sustainable society.  I’m pretty sure I read a figure that if everyone in the world became a vegetarian, due to the complex nature of growing crops and energy transfers (I don’t really know the details), there’d be more than enough food for everyone in the planet for many years to come.  (Okay, there’s already enough food on the planet for everyone, it’s just unevenly divided, but with a growing population there won’t always be).  And of course, assuming I can keep a balanced diet, it’s far healthier; I’m already noticing how many more fruit and vegetables I’m eating.

Though I’ve not been doing this long enough to be offering advice, I will anyway: if you’re considering vegetarianism, even as a vague idea, just try it.  Don’t think longterm. I’m still looking ahead to the future when I’ll let myself eat meat – even though I hope I can avoid it happening – to make it seem like less of a big decision, and more something I’m just trying out.  I still refuse to label myself ‘a vegetarian,’ in case I do have a relapse, and that’s fine.  There’s no shame in not being able to continue with it; I don’t think the diet is for everyone.  But once you’ve tried it, you can know for sure, and you’ll have a better idea of what’s involved if one day you do want to make the big step.

4 thoughts on “Vegetarianism

  1. Pingback: First Anniversary | Through The Fringe

  2. Pingback: Vegetarianism, Veganism and Snobbery | Through The Fringe

  3. I consider myself principled about many matters- but eating meat is not one of them. It would suit my conscience better to be vegetarian, but it’s not something I’d have the strength of mind to do. But good luck to you!

    • Thank you! I thought like that for a long time as well, and I suppose the guilt just grew. I think for people who know they’d struggle without meat a compromise can be met, to make sure all the meat they eat comes from an ethical source.

Leave a Reply

